The Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior (SEDI) Focus Group Graduate Research Award is given to one or up to two honorees in recognition of advances that contribute to the understanding of the deep interior of the Earth or other planetary bodies using a broad range of observational, experimental, and/or theoretical approaches.

More details can be found on the following website:

Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior (SEDI) Focus Group Award for Graduate Research

Eligible candidates must be (1) current M.S. or Ph.D. students (or highest equivalent terminal degree) or have completed the degree requirements for a Ph.D. (or highest equivalent terminal degree) within the same calendar year in which the award is presented (1 January 2018–31 December 2018). Recipients will receive the following:  recognition at the SEDI reception during the Fall AGU meeting, an award certificate, and a $500 monetary prize.

2018 Nomination Deadline: TBD.

Past Recipients:

2017: Announced at the Fall Meeting

2016: Harriet Lau, Harvard University; Joseph O’Rourke, Caltech

2015: Matthew Weller, Rice University

2014: Andrew J. Schaeffer, Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies